Child pages
  • Background
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 2 Next »

In eHour there is a simple, fixed, structure of the data:

A user is part of a department and can have multiple roles (User, Administrator, Reporter).

 
A customer can have multiple projects.

Projects are assigned to an user. There are three types of assignments (on date, fixed time allotted and flex time allotted). With the assignments in places an user can book hours on it, in other words: timesheet entries.

 

 

Users, user roles and departments

Within eHour, users are organized into departments. Each user can only be part of a single department. Departments come back during reporting where you can filter on a department.

Each user can have one or more roles, you assign them when creating or editing a user:

The basic role is the 'User' role. The user role can book hours on projects and get reporting on his/her own hours.

The second role is the 'Report' role'. users with the 'report' role can view reports of all customers, projects and users. If someone has only a 'report' role he/she can only view reports, not book hours.

The third role is the 'Admin' role. Administrators can create customers, users, assign roles to users, create customers, create projects and assign projects to users. They also can change global configuration parameters such as whether to display hourly rates and turnover.

'Project Manager' is the fourth role. Project Manager is an implicit role, as in that you can't assign it to an user when creating the user. You can make a user PM by marking someone as PM when editing a project. More about the Project Manager role in the Projects sections.

An user can either be active or inactive. You can only delete a user when (s)he never booked any hour on a project. When someone did book an hour it's only possible to de-activate. Deactivated users cannot login but hours they booked in the past still appear on the reports.

Customers and Projects

Users can book hours on customers through a project. A customer is identified by a unique code and name combination.

A customer can be also de-activated. When a customer is de-actived users can't book hours on all the customers' projects anymore however the customer still appears on the reports.
Customers without projects can be deleted.

Every customer can have one or more projects. Projects have the same attributes as a customer: a name, unique project code and a description. Additionaly you can add the customers' contact person to the project and assign a project manager to it.

As with customers and users, projects can be de-activated. No more hours can be booked but it's still on the reports.

Project Manager

The project manager can only do reporting for projects he's project manager for. He also receives e-mail when an user books more hours than allotted. For this e-mail functionality only users who have a filled-out e-mail address can be assigned project manager.

Default project

There's one last last attribute which is interesting and that's the 'Default project' setting. When a project is marked as a default project, all existing and new users are automatically assigned to it.

For example, if you want users to be able to book vacation days; create a customer representing your own organization and create a project called 'Vacational leave' and make it a default project. Now every new user that's created can book hours on 'Vacational leave' without an adinm having to assign him/her manually.
Default project assignments don't have an hourly rate and the start and end date is infinite.

 

 

 




  • No labels