Child pages
  • Background
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 6 Next »

In eHour there is a simple, fixed, structure of the data:

A user is part of a department and can have multiple roles (User, Administrator, Reporter).

 
A customer can have multiple projects.

Projects are assigned to a user. There are three types of assignments (on date, fixed time allotted and flex time allotted). With the assignments in places a user can book hours on it, in other words: timesheet entries.

 

 

Users, user roles and departments

Within eHour, users are organized into departments. Each user can only be part of a single department. Departments come back during reporting where you can filter on a department.

Each user can have one or more roles, you assign them when creating or editing a user:

The basic role is the 'User' role. The user role can book hours on projects and get reporting on his/her own hours.

The second role is the 'Report' role'. users with the 'report' role can view reports of all customers, projects and users. If someone has only a 'report' role he/she can only view reports, not book hours.

The third role is the 'Admin' role. Administrators can create customers, users, assign roles to users, create customers, create projects and assign projects to users. They also can change global configuration parameters such as whether to display hourly rates and turnover.

'Project Manager' is the fourth role. Project Manager is an implicit role, as in that you can't assign it to a user when creating the user. You can make a user PM by marking someone as PM when editing a project. More about the Project Manager role in the Projects sections.

a user can either be active or inactive. You can only delete a user when (s)he never booked any hour on a project. When someone did book an hour it's only possible to de-activate. Deactivated users cannot login but hours they booked in the past still appear on the reports.

Customers and Projects

Users can book hours on customers through a project. A customer is identified by a unique code and name combination.

A customer can be also de-activated. When a customer is de-actived users can't book hours on all the customers' projects anymore however the customer still appears on the reports.
Customers without projects can be deleted.

Every customer can have one or more projects. Projects have the same attributes as a customer: a name, unique project code and a description. Additionaly you can add the customers' contact person to the project and assign a project manager to it.

As with customers and users, projects can be de-activated. No more hours can be booked but it's still on the reports.

Project Manager

The project manager can only do reporting for projects he's project manager for. He also receives e-mail when a user books more hours than allotted. For this e-mail functionality only users who have a filled-out e-mail address can be assigned project manager.

Default project

There's one last last attribute which is interesting and that's the 'Default project' setting. When a project is marked as a default project, all existing and new users are automatically assigned to it.

For example, if you want users to be able to book vacation days; create a customer representing your own organization and create a project called 'Vacational leave' and make it a default project. Now every new user that's created can book hours on 'Vacational leave' without an adinm having to assign him/her manually.
Default project assignments don't have an hourly rate and the start and end date is infinite.

Project Assignments

Before a user can book an hour on a project (s)he needs to be assigned to the project. In the assignment you can define the hourly rate, role and start and end date. This way each user can have a different hourly rate within the same project and a different start/end date depending on the phase the project is in.

There are three different types of assignments: date range assignment, fixed time allotted and flex time allotted assignments.





Date Range assignment
The date range assignment is the simplest form of an assignment. You define a start and end date and the user can book as many hours within that range as he needs to.
A start or end date is not required, if you leave the end date out and just specify a start date the user can book hours as of the start date until infinity.



 

Fixed Time Allotted assignment
The second type is the fixed time allotted assignment. With this type you define how many hours can be booked on this project by the user.
Say you give/allot 300 hours on a project to a user, when the user reaches that mark he cannot book any more hours on the project.
When the allotted mark is reached a warning mail is sent to the Project Manager informing him that the user reached the mark (therefore only users created with a valid e-mail address can be assigned as PM).

You can further limit this assignment by adding a start or end date or both.

 

 

 

Flex Time Allotted assignment
The last type is the flex time allotted assignment. The difference with the fixed time alloted assignment is that on top of the allotted hours an additional 'overrun' can be specified.

 
If a user has 200 allotted hours on a project and he books 200 hours an e-mail will be sent to the PM. However if an overrun of 80 hours is given he can book an additional 80 hours on the project. When those 80 hours are spent a second warning mail is sent to the PM and the user can't book any hours anymore on the project.

 

 




  • No labels